Poetic Progression: H.S. Freshman to College Freshman

Here are some old poems I recently came across while looking though old notebooks. Per request, I’m posting the lameness, but showing the progression and evolution of my writing. Feel free to laugh! Enjoy.

Untitled (Written 2000 – H.S. Freshman)

A niggas eyes neva lie
You blink – you die
That’s why
You gotta look to the sky

To the one who made ya
Who be ya savior
Acting like you can’t leave without your cellphones and pagers
These green devils will cage ya
See this greed is major
They’ll sell-out and trade ya
Now, who’s gonna save ya?!

None of this is justified
All because of a nigga’s pride
For speaking the truth you get crucified
Whateva happened to: (*Queen Latifah voice*) U-N-I-T-Y

See money, hoes, and gats cant save ya ass
from satans tricks and God’s wrath
Did you do ya math?
You’ve come to the fork, now you choose the path.

Half the hood is barely alive
All of us just dying to survive
And we stay asking the question Why?
Stop looking to man and look to the Most High

Money, power, respect we could all be gettin
So stop with all this fake-ice trippin
All you gotta do is bear the pain and listen
‘Cause most of the answers are spoken or written

This is why I salute all poetic soldiers
We comin up outta the smolders
With a shit-load of told ya’s
Spitting words that’ll wake you up like Folgers

I’m A Poet (Free write 2000 – H.S. Freshman)

I’m a poet
meaning I can kill with words
shock ya;; so hard it’ll feel like a power surge

I’m a poet
known for the knives on my tongue
spit shit so hard it’s worse than bullets from a gun

You think I cant have deep thoughts ‘cause I don’t have visible scars?
Think the only way to experience pain is behind somebody’s metal bars?

Well, I got news for you
I’m a poet
So stop the booty chatter
We need to be discussin some shit that really matters

Like:
Givin some help to those in need
We better learn to share love like we share bags of weed.

Seems to me we need to be more worried about HIV
Than the schemes of some nigga over seas

We need to be concerned about why P.I.G.s
Put out A.P.B.s
Saying it’s a code 3
“Crazed nigga on a shooting spree”
And yell: “WHOOPIE”

See—

If the information we get from the po-pos
Is contradicting the po’ folks
Then maybe the information is a no-no

So I address these issues because
I’m a poet
A Mind stunna
AKA
The Verbal Gunna

STATS (written 2001 – H.S. Sophomore; National HIV testing day slam)

Like a time bomb

waiting to be detonated

No chance for relatin’ or listenin’

So consumed by the diamonds and guns glistenin’

Leanin out the window whistlin’

Fantasizin & wishin’

No condom and daddy come up missin’

STD’s dismissed ‘em

Caught slippin’

Now to her own life she grippin’

Shouldn’t have been trippin’

Don’t get it twisted

Now shorty’s a statistic

mesmerized by the mystic

His professed love unspecific

Thought he was terrific

Turned out to be mythic

Crisis became prolific

Now life’s apocalyptic

It sucks the life outta you like a tic

Tomorrow Never Came (Written 9/11/2001 – H.S. Sophomore)

Another situation I must bring to the nation

ONE nation

Under God

Under who?

“In God we trust”

Yes, we must

because thousands of people are dust?

Lord, I need thee

You said you’d neva leave me —

But why so alone do I, myself see?

Never have I felt like this

So much pain and bliss

Bliss because me they missed

Pain because you they hit

What did I do to deserve this?

What did my mother, brother, sister, father, friend do for this?

This – anger and hate we must eliminate

demonstrate a better way

Negotiate & play it straight

I never felt quite like this

For the slain

I feel a pain

Because for them — tomorrow never came…

I Remember – incomplete (written to a music track in 2002 – H.S. Junior)

I never slang no thangs
Never rolled no dice
But I had hood dreams ‘cause I lived a hood life

I remember when dinner was scrambled eggs and rice
Washed it down with red kool-aid
Using the oven for heat some days
Foil on the TV antennae — when it played
Channel surfing with pliers; still felt like we had it made

I remember my momma making me go outside and play
Only playground we had was a dirty alley way
I remember guttin a box or a crate — hanging it on a nail
Playing ball with my little cousin cause her pops was in jail
Playing HORSE and keep away
Sunshine or rain
Thinkin I was the shit ‘cause I could dunk in the crate

I remember having to be home before the street lights came on
Because after a certain time
Your age was gone
Your color was gone
Your gender was gone
And all that was on was
‘Pop, pop, pop, pop, pop’

I remember standing on my grandmother’s stoop and seeing a man get stabbed
And the police not coming for like an hour and a half
Blaming it on traffic
I remember the screams of this man — crying in pain
I remember the ambulance taking him away
I remember them blocking off the drive-way with crime scene tape
I remember his blood staying there until the rain washed it away

I remember playin on the playground at the projects across the street
I remember seeing the black car circle 3 times and then come to a creep
I remember the window rolling down
I remember the 11 shots that rang out
I remember running to my little cousin and throwing her on the ground
I remember covering my ears cause the sound was so loud
I remember closing my eyes to pray
I remember at that very moment getting grazed by a stray

***that’s where I stopped***


Hiding In Blackness (written 2003 – H.S. Senior; May Day Senior Slam)

Close your eyes
and imagine stepping to the very edge of life
and seeing blackness

Six million figures of blackness

And as you look closely you begin to see yourself in the blackness
So you hide it

You hide it within your families and tribes
Pretty soon the blackness becomes apart of your lives
And over the years you hide it so well
That the blackness becomes a memory

They begin to call you mestizo
but you don’t really know what that means
Now the blackness is so hidden
it’s no longer apart of your identity

In Lak’ech means you are my other me
But it’s better to have liberty than to be a whole human being
All of this hiding does a number on your psyche
And so the struggle begins and you begin to fight me

The blackness…

The blackness that’s left an unwanted legacy
And thus you become less than human — to them
And so the cycle starts all over again
They start to call you ‘nigga’
So the hiding gets deeper
And the blackness is no longer welcome in your history
Forgotten is the way you stood on the edge of life; saw the ships come across the sea
Forgotten is the way you used to hide me for protection
And the blackness has now become the object of neglection

In Lak’ech means you are my other me
But it’s better to have liberty than to be a whole human being
All of this hiding does a number on your psyche
And so the struggle continues and you are still fighting

The blackness…

The blackness that no longer allows you to see yourself in me
The blackness that indicates a shared ancestry
The blackness that continues to separate our communities
The rejection of the blackness that reigns in white supremacy

The emergence of knowledge has now become present
The history of the blackness is being resurrected
The way that this affects the future cannot be measured
As the politics of identity becomes a constant pressure

Within this realization comes a long awaited embrace
Acknowledgment & understanding about the history of a race

In Lak’ech means you are my other me
It is better to be whole human beings and FIGHT for liberty
All of this hiding still does a number on your psyche
Until the struggle ends and you are no longer fighting

The Blackness…

I Am A Woman…Contradictions (Written 2003; College Freshman)

I am a woman…
from my God given crown of glorious hair
to my luscious and full lips that beg to be kissed
From the sensuous curves and slopes of my breasts
To the coke-bottle figurings of my hips
From the alluring shape of my behind
to the thickness of my thighs; that will wrap themselves around you and continuously blow your mind

I am a woman…
but I can turn to BITCH in point 5 seconds
so don’t even think that you can play me to the left
Do I look like your mama?
Nigga, I ain’t got no kids
So you better get right
I don’t have time for foolishness, or childish games.
So act like you know who you’re talking to
or get ready to call Tyrone
because homegirl don’t play dat foul shit
And if you don’t like it
You can suck. my. dick!

I am a woman…
completely lady like
always classy in public
never on the verge of loosing my Queendom
My tone hardly above a whisper
My smile brightening up any room
the twinkle in my eye reminding you that you are the star
the light of my life
making you prod to be my man, my king
Letting you know that you can be confident in the fact that I would never, ever, swing.

I am a woman…
And I be down too
walk around naked in the house
scream as LT runs for a touchdown
Eat hot cheetoes & a pint of Ben & Jerry’s rocky-road ice cream
And don’t look at me like that —
All cross-eyed and confused, because my ass itches too sometimes

I am a woman…
And yes my internal femininity is sugar-coated and honey dipped
And I am warm and welcoming like a fire, burning brightly
hot with glow and desire
I can love you to the highest point of ecstacy
Reciting lullabys in your ear
as you continuously drum on the key
that makes me sing & scream those notes you long to hear.
And I can cuddle with you after we have made love
our bodies having learned yet another thing about the other
As we lay our bodies entwined – not knowing where one ends or the other begins.

I am a woman…
and if I pull away from you when you begin to foreplay
If I scratch or bite you
It’s not because I don’t wanna make love
It just that sometimes, well, sometimes I just wanna FUCK
To be blunt:
Have you come over, bust a nut, and be up
Bend me over where you see me, and take out some aggression
Uninhibited, beastly, animalistic, lustful sex without discretion.

I am a woman…
And as contradictory as all of this may seem
I’m not only a woman – but a continuously evolving human being
So when I tell you all of this
Understand that I’m a woman
And NO, I’m not confused
I know exactly what I want at the moment I tell you.

~ by RealmDeity on July 7, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
